Our recent Selling Skills Training Experience!

One fine morning I got a call from a client. They wanted something for their new joinees. What they really wanted they didn’t know and unfortunately they were unable to explain it to me either. So I sent our representative to meet them and find out what they really needed.

Selling Skills Training

He came back with a really weird combination. It was a Selling Skills Training enmeshed into an induction program. “We havn’t done one of those while I have been there but we can certainly manage,” I thought to myself. It all seemed doable until I heard the next part! What I heard next was something alien to my ears. I had never heard of such a need before. The client actually wanted us to do a Selling Skills Training as a part of the Induction they conduct for their new joinees, including the technical training. “Technical training on what,” was my next question? The next term that hit me was something I really wasn’t expecting, in fact I didn’t even know what it meant! How was I going to train someone on something that I had never even heard about! I was lost in wonderland for a minute but me and my questions never really let me stay their too long! So how was I supposed to do it? It was a medical related product and biology was something that I had not touched after my 10th Standard. In fact my mother had always wanted me to be a Doctor and I had refused point blank as just the sight of blood had always been enough to take me down!

Selling Skills

So I asked my colleague the next question,”where am I expected to gain the expertise from to actually conduct this session?” He came to my rescue and informed me that the client wanted me to attend the induction being conducted that month. I could sit like a participant in the session, ask as many questions as I wanted and would be ready to conduct the session. In fact they also wanted me to take over the Legal, Finance, Operations, MIS and HR sessions. Now I was really going to faint! What made them think I would be able to do justice to these varied sections. HR is something I could easily do and I could learn the MIS and Operations parts, but Legal and Finance!

I took a deep breath, gathered some courage and finally told my colleague to say yes to them. This was going to be a challenge for me and I was ready to accept it. I was ready to give it a go and put in all the effort that it required.

Soon came the day of the induction. I sat through it carefully taking notes. I also kept an eye on the participants and interacted with them to understand how they felt about the session. I then suggested appropriate changes to the client, post which I started bombarding them with my list of never ending questions! They patiently cleared all my doubts and even landed up making changes in their client presentation!

After plenty of late night study finally came the day of my session and boy was I in for a surprise! Some of my participants were Doctors themselves while others had been working with our client’s competitors since a long time and hence knew the product in and out. I was actually supposed to teach participants who knew a lot more than me! I did freak out for a minute but shook myself back into balance. I had studied hard and was going to do my best.

Guess what, I came out with flying colours!

Leave a Reply

